Knights Templar

What are the Chivalric Orders?

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

We have referred to the Orders conferred by a Preceptory. In Canada the work of the Preceptory is divided into three parts:
  • The Order of the Red Cross.
  • The Orders of Mediterranean Pass and Malta.
  • The Orders of the Temple.
The Red Cross Order is not, strictly speaking, a Christian Order. Its value in the Templar system is its bridging of the gap between the Royal Arch degree and the Order of the Temple. It is a story founded upon an important period in Hebrew history and stresses Faith in God, the importance of Truth, and the value of Liberty and Justice.

The Order of Malta brings to the novitiate the story of another of the great Chivalric Orders, whose deeds of heroism fill the pages of history, and whose Christian character forms a bright page in religious history.

The most striking degree or Order in Masonry in the opinion of most expert ritualists is the Order of Consecration as set out in the Canadian Work. It is rightly described as the "ne plus ultra" of the Masonic system and is especially appreciated by all Christian Freemasons. We cannot describe its beauty or the impressions which are created in the mind of the Candidate. It must be seen to be appreciated.

Rise up, 0 Men of God
Have done with lesser things
Give Heart and Soul and Mind and Strength
To serve the King of Kings.
Lift high the Cross of Christ
Tread where His feet have trod
As brothers of the Son of Man
Rise up, O Men of God.

To Royal Arch Masonry has been given the WORD. To Knights Templar is given the INTERPRETATION. Shall we say more?

Page 4 of 6